The Utah Highway Patrol has a warning for anyone who decides to drink and drive this Labor Day weekend. You will get caught and you will go to jail. UHP officials announced it will increase its presence on the roadways starting Friday, September 1 as part of its “DUI Blitz” campaign this weekend. More than 200 additional shifts by state law enforcement have been deployed from August 16 to September 4 to crack down on drunk drivers.
The Sobering Facts of DUI on Labor Day Weekend
Like many holiday weekends, Labor Day is a time for many people to enjoy an extra day off and gather with their friends and family for cookouts and get together. Unfortunately, far too many people overindulge on their alcohol consumption. When it comes to DUI in Utah, here is a sobering fact. Over the last five years, there has been an average of 28 alcohol-related crashes throughout the state, making it one of the most dangerous weekends of for alcohol-related crashes and fatalities. State officials have also partnered with Salt Lake City bars to ensure patrons have a plan to get home safely during the weekend.
Are Utah’s Stricter DUI Laws Working?
Utah already has a reputation for having the toughest DUI laws in the nation. Unlike most states, where the legal blood-alcohol level is 0.08 percent, Utah motorists will be arrested for blowing a 0.05 on a breathalyzer. Nearly 60 percent of the state’s population belongs to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, which prohibits the use of alcohol. Because of Utah’s unique demographics, it may explain why the state’s tough drunk driving laws. The 0.05 legal limit bill was signed by Governor Gary Herbert, who is a practicing Mormon.
It may be too early to tell whether Utah’s stricter DUI laws are working. However, recent trends indicate there has been a noticeable decline in DUI arrests throughout the state in the last five years. According to a story published in the Desert News in 2015, an average of 30 people was arrested for DUI each day compared to nearly 43 in 2009. Even more encouraging, DUI arrests have continued to drop while the state’s population continues to rise.
The Consequences of DUI in Utah
Just one DUI arrest can bring severe consequences. First time DUI offenders in Utah will spend at least 2 days in jail. The penalties increase to 10 days for second-time offenders. A third DUI arrest will result in a felony. In addition to the possibility of losing a job and staining their reputation, a DUI arrest can result in significant time behind bars.
Have You Been Arrested for DUI in Utah? The Salt Lake City Criminal Defense Attorney at Jardine Law Office, P.C. Can Help.
Many people who are arrested for DUI in Salt Lake City do not properly understand their rights. Unfortunately, some law enforcement officers and officials can take advantage of the situation. If you have been charged with drunk driving, it is important to fight these charges immediately and aggressively. Over the years, the criminal defense attorney at Jardine Law Office, P.C. has successfully helped many people resolve their DUI charges and move on with their lives. They utilize an aggressive and comprehensive approach to help place each client in the best position to succeed. To learn more, contact their Salt Lake City criminal law office today and schedule a free initial consultation.