Every state in the U.S. has certain laws and regulations regarding personal injury cases. Thousands of people seek monetary compensation via personal injury claims every year. Understanding how the claim process works can save you both time and money.
If you have been injured recently, and want to seek compensation for the injuries you obtained, the best thing to do is speak with a knowledgeable Los Angeles personal injury attorney. After talking to one of our attorneys, you will understand the situation you are in and know more about your right.
After getting your case evaluated, the next step is filing a personal injury claim. Here is everything that you need to know about California’s personal injury claim insurance.
The most common question is: who is eligible to file a personal injury claim in California? The answer is simple: everyone who suffered a personal injury as a result of someone else’s negligence or misconduct. If you were in an accident and suffered an injury due to someone else’s breach of duty, negligence or purposeful conduct, you are eligible (according to the state laws and regulations) to file a personal injury claim against that person.
It is advised to have an attorney present by your side, to help you negotiate with the insurance company and represent your best interests. If you do not have an attorney in mind, do not panic. Our offices are open every day, and our personal injury lawyer in Los Angeles will gladly assist you in securing and obtaining the compensation for your injuries.
Give us a call right after the accident, and we will start working on your claim right away.
Understand The Statute of Limitations
One thing that you should always keep in mind is the statute of limitations. Basically, it is the “time” in which you have to submit your claim and report the accident. If you fail to submit your claim within the statute of limitations ( two years from the moment of the accident), you will lose the right to seek compensation for your injuries and everything else related to that particular accident.
It is not in your interest to lose the financial help that you are eligible to receive. That is why you should learn the following:
- Any kind of personal injury case – two years from the moment of the accident (car accident, slip & fall, workplace accident)
- Claim against a California City, State government agency or country – six months to 1 year to file a claim
It is in your best interest to start collecting the evidence and information related to the accident so that your attorney can start working on your case right away.
Be advised: California is a state of shared-fault, which means that if you are responsible for the accident even partially (10 to 50 percent), you will receive a compensation reduced by that amount. To gain additional understanding of the shared fault system or about the statute of limitations in California, feel free to get in touch with our attorneys.