Following a car accident, you may find yourself confused and stressed out. At that point, you could make some mistakes which could later jeopardize your case and cause you further complications down the road.
The most common mistakes people do after an accident are:
- Not calling the police
- Not getting medical help
- Not taking pictures and photographs of the accident
- Not getting information from the other party involved
- Not getting information from all the eyewitnesses involved
- Not calling the attorney
There are other things that could cause further complications. Here are some of those complications and a few tips on how you should properly deal with them.
The Other Party Does Not Have Insurance
If you ended up in a car accident and the other party involved does not have any type of insurance, you may start getting a headache. This is where things get complicated, but do not panic; there is a way to work around it. For starters, you should contact your attorney. If you do not have one, call our Kansas City personal injury lawyers and seek their professional opinion.
They will deal with the situation and find a way to help you obtain compensation for:
- Medical costs
- Out-of-pocket expenses
- Property damage
- Lost wages
As long as it was someone else’s negligence that caused the accident and you are a victim, you can get compensated for the damages you sustained.
You Missed The Deadline
Every state has laws that limit the amount of time that you have to file a claim after an accident. In California, you have two years since the moment of the accident to file a claim against the party responsible for causing the accident. Missing the deadline will result in negative consequences, and any further attempts to file a claim will result in an immediate dismissal by the court.
However, there are certain cases in which you may get additional time to file a claim. For that reason, you should always try and consult with a legal professional right after an accident takes place.
If you only want to file a lawsuit over damages done to your vehicle, the California Code of Civil Procedure, section 338 provides you with three years to file your lawsuit.
You Are Partially Responsible For Causing The Accident
Even if you are partially at fault, you could still file a claim against the other party. Once your total damages have been calculated and the fault decided, you will be able to claim benefits for the total amount of the other party’s fault. So let us say that your total damages are $50,000, and you are only 20 percent at fault, you will be able to claim up to $40,000.
To help you with that, our Personal Injury Attorneys in Kansas City offer their legal guidance and years of experience. Give us a call today and schedule your consultation.
You may encounter many other complications, but it is important to remain calm and always consult with a legal professional.