If you are convicted of a sex offense in California, you may be branded for life. California’s sex offender registration requirement (found in Penal Code 290) requires you to put your name on a public record, assuming that you are found guilty of at least one sex crime.
In some situations, some people are required to register as sex offenders for life.
In case you are under investigation or have been charged with sex offense, it is essential that you seek help from seasoned Los Angeles Sex Crime Attorneys. They may be your best chance of clearing your name.
Here is everything you need to know about registering as a sex offender in California.
Three Tiers Of Sex Offense
In California, based on the category of crimes that the individual committed, they are placed in one of the three tiers:
- Tier One: It has the lowest level of requirements for a sexual offense. It usually involves misdemeanor sexual assault and battery or indecent exposure. Everyone categorized as a Tier one sex offender has to register for at least 10 years.
- Tier Two: It involves sexual offenses such as lewd acts with a minor (under the age of 14) and non-forced sex crimes with a minor. Everyone categorized as a Tier two sex offender has to register for at least 20 years.
- Tier Three: It involves rape charges, sex trafficking of minors, sex crimes against children. Registration is for life. Note: every sex offender who repeats sex crimes is usually registered for life and categorized as a Tier three sex offender.
How It Can Affect Your Life
Being registered as a sex offender will drastically change your life. It will impact:
- The place where you are allowed to live (nowhere close to schools or places where children gather)
- Your status (you will have to report if you are leaving the city, the state or moving to another place)
- Your rights as a student (you will have to report to the campus police before being allowed to stay in a dorm)
- Your freedom of movement (you may be forced to wear a GPS monitoring device)
- Your parole (it may get extended in certain cases)
Obtaining a Certificate of Rehabilitation
In order to clear your name, you have to spend at least 10 years registering as a sex offender, without committing any additional (sex) crimes. Once 10 years have passed, you may be eligible to obtain a Certificate of Rehabilitation, a court order declaring that you are now rehabilitated. In some cases, it may result in an end t your requirement to register as a sex offender. However, in some cases, you may have to register even for a few years after obtaining your Certificate.
Speak with an attorney in Los Angeles to learn more about your rights and requirements to register, and if there is a way to help you avoid registration after obtaining a Certificate of Rehabilitation, our attorneys will help you do it.